Food is Love

The cheap & lazy way to make Taco Soup

This is so easy you will laugh!! Taco Soup is one of my favorite meals to eat and to make. There are 100 different recipes to follow for Taco Soup (and I have never tried one that I didn’t like). I have tried many different recipes but this one I make in the crock pot is the easiest and the one my house likes the best. I hope you enjoy!

First I cook (brown) 2lbs of ground beef, most recipes say to use 1lb but we are meat eaters so I always use 2lbs, and then drain. I also like to add a pack of taco seasoning and water to the beef and cook it a little longer before I add the other ingredients. *This means I am using 2pks of the Taco Seasoning (1 cooked into the meat & 1 added to the crock pot).

image

Make sure to drain these 4 ingredients and rinse before adding to crock pot. (You can now see where the CHEAP part comes in).

image

image                                                                           These 2 ingredients can be added straight from the can. *Most recipes will call for Diced tomatoes. So GOOD. I suggest you add them but my household refuses to eat tomatoes so I can only get away with sneaking in the Ro-tel. Don’t forget to add a 1pk of Taco Seasoning Mix and 1pk of Ranch Seasoning Mix.

While the ground beef is on the skillet add all other ingredients to the crock pot and turn on HIGH. Once the meat has simmered in the taco seasoning for a few minutes add it to the crock pot and stir all ingredients. And all the “hard work” is DONE!

Now just let the ingredients cook for about 2.5-3 hours on HIGH.

We like to eat this soup with crackers, shredded cheese, and sour cream on top! Or when you are pregnant like me be sure to add some Crystal’s Hot Sauce 🙂 enjoy!

Leave a Reply

